Serial Experiments Lain Review

Here is a little Synopsis for you.

“Lain Iwakura appears to be an ordinary girl, with almost no experience with computers. Yet the sudden suicide of a schoolmate, and a number of strange occurrences, conspire to pull Lain into the world of the Wired, where she gradually learns that nothing is what it seems to be… not even Lain herself.” This is pulled from My Anime List.

All have to say is that this was a pretty good series. From the second I started watching it I was pulled right into what was going on. Sure the show was created back in the late 90s so the animation style is a little outdated and such. But that is to be expected from something over 10 years old. This anime challenged about what god and the universe really are. It makes you think about what and who you really are. At first I could not figure out what was going on, but after a couple of episode I started to understand.

The anime can get pretty creepy at times. Probably the creepiest moment was when the guy that thought he was god materialized himself and tried to take out lain. That scene reminded me of the Scene in the movie “The Watchmen” where Dr. Manhattan does the exact same thing. But he was not getting stuff thrown at him by a little girl. Dr. Manhattan at least had time to do it properly. This guy here did not have time and thus it looked like god took a shit and forgot to flush.

The only complaint I have with this anime is when you hear the buzzing of the electrical lines every so often. It gets quite annoying and that is why I suggest you do not wear headphones while watching. But if you want good atmosphere to watch this in watch at night with no lights on. Make sure that no one is going to interrupt you either.

Now on to the topic of the characters and the story. This was really focused on Lain. But there were a couple of important side characters like Arisu and Lain’s other side. But Lain got the mast development because well learn that she is god. Arisu gets some. But most of other character exist just to keep the story moving. The story was the most important part and it delivered on that part. It was rich and full of detail. You learned about the existence of The Wired and of it interweaving with the real world. I live the explanation of that to the anime if you decide to watch it.

All in all I enjoyed watching this anime and I liked the idea it proposed. It got me thinking about things and that is when I know I liked it. So for anyone wanting to watch it but is holding out go watch it now and then tell me what you think. This is Xly15 signing off and thank you for staying off my lawn.

2 thoughts on “Serial Experiments Lain Review

  1. This is one of my favorite anime. XD It’s like The Matrix in the anime world (which is my favorite movie, btw). I love the thought of “the Wired” and how we’re all connected. It really speaks to this generation.

    1. I love The Matrix movies. That is the reason I liked this anime was because told me that it was kinda like the matrix. This just got a little creepier though.

Leave a Reply

